This is the story of a family, a house and a city. This is where it all began.
The Stranahan House was built in 1901 by Frank Stranahan, Fort Lauderdale’s "Founding Father," and his wife, Ivy Cromartie Stranahan, the area’s first school teacher. The House has served as a trading post, post office, community center, town hall and home to the Stranahans. Today, it stands as the oldest building in Broward County and an epicenter of Fort Lauderdale’s long and fascinating history.
Located on the north side of New River (Las Olas at New River Tunnel).
Limited parking is available on site for daily tours. Additional parking is available at the Riverside Hotel Parking Garage for a flat rate of $5.